Guideline 1.01
Guideline 1

Guideline 1.01

 

Physical/technical examination of handwriting

 

(modified by resolution passed at the annual general meeting in 1998)

 

 

1. Purpose of physical/technical examination of handwriting

 

The term "physical/technical examination of handwriting" covers a series of methods and techniques used for gaining objective findings prior to the actual comparison of handwriting. As they are solely physical and not chemical in nature, they generally do not destroy the document so as to avoid impairing or prejudicing the ensuing analyses of the handwriting. If, however, it is not possible to avoid destruction of the document and if it is necessary to use further complex technical equipment entailing specialist skills for the purpose of clarifying the matter at hand, an expert for document technology or for the specific matter must be consulted.

 

Physical/technical analyses are a preliminary step and an integrated part of any forensic document comparison, which at least in the preliminary stage also involves examining the materials involved. Peculiarities exhibited by the pen and paper used may influence the writing and should be identified as part of the physical/technical examination. Technical examinations of documents help to objectively determine differences in materials detected by the naked eye as well as to detect differences which are invisible to the naked eye.

 

As frequently only physical/technical examinations enable the findings from a comparison of documents to be objectified, particularly with respect to forgery and falsification characteristics, they play a key role in practice.

 

 

2. Examination method (minimum standard)

 

The underlying principle is to start with the "general" and then proceed to the "specifics".

 

The examination first takes place in visible light initially with the naked eye in visible daylight (5500°K) and in artificial light (3400°K). This is followed by a macroscopic and stereomicroscopic examination using various different sources of light (halogen, cold light), illumination types (incident light, back lighting, rim light) and filters (absorption filter, polarization filter). 

 

Extravisual examinations in long and short-wave UV light (366 nm and 254 nm) as well as in IR light (700-1100 nm) for detecting absorption and luminescence phenomena require the use of special equipment: Sources of light with a defined light spectrum, blocking filters for various wave lengths as well as opto/electronic scanners for visualizing the absorption and luminescence phenomena invisible to the naked human eye.

 

Using electrostatic detection methods, it is possible to detect indented writing.

 

In addition to these destruction-free minimum standard methods, further technical examinations of documents may also be necessary: Examinations using destruction-free electronic imaging, (semi-) destructive scanning electron microscopes or chemical analysis to determine the nature of the materials involved. (NB: special knowledge required here).

 

The findings of the physical/technical examination are documented in written or photographic form. Details of the methods and techniques applied enhance the value of the examination.  Photographic documentation is advisable to illustrate the relevant results. This particularly applies to findings which cannot be seen with the naked eye.

 

The objective value of each finding must be determined. If the findings in each individual examination can be corroborated by further examinations, this will enhance the importance of such finding.

 

 


3. Possible uses

 

By using the methods and techniques of destruction-free physical/technical document examinations specifically and systematically, the document expert will be able to independently gain the following results :

 

  • Visual assessment of the document
    • Type and material of the document
    • Particular characteristics of the document (format, structure, color etc.)
    • Signs of mechanical and chemical denaturation
    • Congruence checks

 

  • Microscopic examination of handwriting
    • Type and composition of ink used
    • Any previous pressure marks
    • Traces of indenting
    • Mechanical pressure / writing-over
    • Fine structures in the writing
    • Crossed letters
    • Congruence checks
    • Technical measurements

 

  • Extravisual examinations
    • Peculiarities of the document (optical brighteners, UV/IR imprints)
    • Different types of ink
    • Any previous depressions
    • Chemical traces
    • Rendering latent/faded printing readable
    • Rendering covered or crossed-out printing readable

 

  • Electrostatic detection
    • Rendering blind indents legible

 

  • The expert should be aware of the latest technical developments in the area of document examinations:
    • Writing and modifications to writing using computers and scanners
    • The possibilities and limits of modern copying processes for reproducing handwriting
    • Use of scanning electronic microscopes for the relative dating of handwriting
    • Spectral-photometric processes for distinguishing colors
    • Chemical/analytical processes for detecting differences in ink (thin-layer chromatography, spectroscopy)

 

 

4. Standard specialist literature (excluding magazine articles)

 

ASTM-Standards. No E 1422-91 Standard Guide for Test Methods for Forensic Writing Ink Comparison.

 

Buquet, A. (1991). L´expertise des écritures manuscrites. Paris: Masson.

 

Ellen, D.M. (1997). The Scientific Examination of Documents - Methods and Techniques. London: Taylor & Francis Ltd.

 

Hecker, M.R. (1993). Forensische Handschriftvergleichung. Heidelberg: Kriminalistik Verlag.

 

Mathyer, J. (1986). Optical Methods in the Examination of Questioned Documents. In Maehly A.,

 

Williams R.L., (Hrsg.). Forensic Science Progress, Vol. 2. Berlin: Springer Verlag.

 

Michel, L. (1982). Gerichtliche Schriftvergleichung - Einführung in Grundlagen, Methoden und Praxis. Berlin: de Gruyter.

Pfefferli, P.W. (1989). Physikalisch-technische Methoden der forensischen Schriftuntersuchung. In Conrad W, Stier B., (Hrsg.): Grundlagen, Methoden und Ergebnisse der forensischen Schriftuntersuchung. Lübeck: Schmidt-Römhild.

 

Please also refer to systematic bibliographies such as Mannheimer Bibliographie für Schriftvergleichung und Urkundenprüfung for further references, particularly magazine articles.

 

pdf-File laden
Text in German Language
(c) GFS 10´2011

Richtlinie 1.01
Physikalisch-technische Schriftuntersuchung

Physikalisch-technische Schriftuntersuchung

 

Richtlinie 1.01: Fachbereich "Handschriftenuntersuchung"

(modifiziert gem. MV-Beschluß 1998)

 

 

1. Gegenstand der physikalisch-technischen Schriftuntersuchung

 

Der Begriff "physikalisch-technische Schriftuntersuchung" beinhaltet eine Reihe von Methoden und Techniken, welche als Mittel der objektiven Befunderhebung vor der eigentlichen Schriftvergleichung einzusetzen sind. Ausschließlich physikalischer und nicht chemischer Natur sind sie im Allgemeinen zerstörungsfrei, um die nachfolgenden schriftanalytischen Überprüfungen nicht zu beeinträchtigen oder zu präjudizieren. Wird die Grenze des zerstörungsfreien Handelns überschritten und erweist sich der Einsatz weiterer komplexer, technischer Geräte mit den dazu notwendigen Fachkenntnissen zwecks Abklärung des Sachverhalts als erforderlich, muss der Fachmann für Urkundentechnik bzw. für die spezielle Problemstellung beigezogen werden.

 

Physikalisch-technische Überprüfungen als Voruntersuchungen sind integrierender Bestandteil jeder forensischen Schriftvergleichung, die - zumindest im Stadium der Voruntersuchung - auch materialtechnische Aspekte beinhaltet. Besonderheiten des Schreibgerätes und des Schriftträgers beeinflussen die Schreibleistung und sind bei der physikalisch-technischen Überprüfung zu erfassen. Urkundentechnische Untersuchungen helfen, von bloßem Auge festgestellte Materialunterschiede zu objektivieren und für das menschliche Auge nicht wahrnehmbare Materialdifferenzen zu erkennen.

 

Da oftmals nur die physikalisch-technischen Untersuchungen ermöglichen, den Befund einer Schriftvergleichung zu objektivieren, insbesondere bezüglich Fälschungs- bzw. Verfälschungsmerkmalen, sind sie in der Anwendung zwingend; unabhängig von der schriftanalytischen Fragestellung und dem quantitativen Umfang des Schriftmaterials.

 

 

2. Untersuchungsmethodik (Minimum Standard)

 

Der methodische Grundsatz "Vom Allgemeinen zum Speziellen" ist konsequent zu verfolgen.

 

Die Überprüfung im sichtbaren Licht erfolgt zuerst von bloßem Auge, im sichtbaren Tageslicht (5500°K) und Kunstlicht (3400°K), gefolgt von der makroskopischen und stereomikroskopischen Untersuchung, unter Zuhilfenahme verschiedener Lichtquellen (Halogenlicht, Kaltlichtleiter), Beleuchtungsarten (Auf-, Durch- und Streiflicht) und Filter (Absorptionsfilter, Polarisationsfilter).

 

Extravisuelle Untersuchungen im lang- und kurzwelligen UV-Licht (366 nm bzw. 254 nm) wie auch im IR-Licht (700-1100 nm) zwecks Erkennen von Absorptions- und Lumineszenzphänomenen erfordern den Einsatz spezieller Hilfsmittel: Lichtquellen mit definiertem Lichtspektrum, Sperrfilter für verschiedene Wellenlängen sowie opto-elektronische Scanner zwecks Visualisieren der für das menschliche Auge nicht direkt erkennbaren Absorptions- und Lumineszenzphänomene.

 

Mittels der elektrostatischen Oberflächenabbildung (ESDA) werden latente Schreibdruckrillen sichtbar gemacht.

 

Neben diesen zerstörungsfreien Minimum-Standardmethoden sind gegebenenfalls weitere urkundentechnische Untersuchungen angezeigt: Abbildungen mittels zerstörungsfreier elektronischer Bildverarbeitung; (semi-) destruktive Rasterelektronenmikroskop Untersuchungen oder chemisch-analytische Materialbestimmungen. (Achtung: Spezialkenntnisse erforderlich).

 

Die Befunde der physikalisch-technischen Untersuchung sind in Wort oder Bild zu dokumentieren. Angaben über angewandte Methoden und Techniken ermöglichen die Nachvollziehbarkeit der Untersuchung. Fotografische Dokumentationen sind angezeigt zur Demonstration von relevanten Ergebnissen; dies gilt insbesondere bei Befunden, welche von bloßem Auge nicht wahrnehmbar sind.

 

Die objektive Werthaltigkeit jeder Feststellung ist abzuklären. Lässt sich der Befund einer einzelnen Untersuchung durch weitere Überprüfungen bestätigen, nimmt seine Bedeutung zu.

 

 

3. Einsatzmöglichkeiten

 

Durch den gezielten und systematischen Einsatz von Methoden und Techniken der zerstörungsfreien, physikalisch-technischen Urkundenuntersuchung, soll der Schriftsachverständige in der Lage sein, selbständig folgende Abklärungen vornehmen zu können:

 

Visuelle Beurteilung des Schriftträgers

  • Bestimmung von Art und Material des Schriftträgers
  • Erkennen von Besonderheiten des Schriftträgers (Format, Struktur, Farbe, etc.)
  • Überprüfung auf mechanische und chemische Denaturierung
  • Kongruenzprüfung

 

Mikroskopische Untersuchung der Schrift

  • Bestimmen von Art und Material verwendeten Schreibmittel
  • Erkennen von Vorzeichnungsspuren
  • Erkennen von Prägespuren Erkennen von mechanischen Rasuren / Überschreibungen
  • Erkennen von Strichfeinstrukturen
  • Untersuchung von Strichkreuzungen
  • Kongruenzprüfungen
  • Messtechnische Untersuchungen

 

Extravisuelle Untersuchungen

  • Erkennen von Schriftträger-Besonderheiten (opt. Aufheller, UV/IRAufdrucke)
  • Differenzieren von Schreibmitteln
  • Erkennen von Vorzeichnungsspuren
  • Erkennen von chemischen Rasuren
  • Lesbarmachung von latenten / verblassten Schriften
  • Lesbarmachung von überdeckten / überschriebenen Schriften

 

Elektrostatische Oberflächenabbildung

  • Sichtbarmachung von blinden Schreibdruckrillen

 

Orientierung über den aktuellen Stand der technischen Möglichkeiten aus den weiteren Bereichen der Disziplin

  • Schrifterfassung und -veränderung mittels Computer und
  • Scanner Möglichkeiten und Grenzen moderner Kopierverfahren zur Wiedergabe von Schriften
  • Einsatz des Rasterelektronenmikroskops zur relativen Datierung von Schriften
  • Spekralphotometrische Verfahren zur Farbdifferenzierung
  • Chemisch-analytische Verfahren zur Differenzierung von Schreibmitteln (Dünnschichtchromatografie, Spektroskopie)

 

 

4. Standard-Fachliteratur (ohne Zeitschriftenaufsätze)

 

ASTM-Standards. No E 1422-91 Standard Guide for Test Methods for Forensic Writing Ink Comparison.

 

Buquet, A. (1991). L´expertise des écritures manuscrites. Paris: Masson.

 

Ellen, D.M. (1997). The Scientific Examination of Documents - Methods and Techniques. London: Taylor & Francis Ltd.

 

Hecker, M.R. (1993). Forensische Handschriftvergleichung. Heidelberg: Kriminalistik Verlag.

 

Mathyer, J. (1986). Optical Methods in the Examination of Questioned Documents. In Maehly A., Williams R.L., (Hrsg.). Forensic Science Progress, Vol. 2. Berlin: Springer Verlag.

 

Michel, L. (1982). Gerichtliche Schriftvergleichung - Einführung in Grundlagen, Methoden und Praxis. Berlin: de Gruyter.

 

Pfefferli, P.W. (1989). Physikalisch-technische Methoden der forensischen Schriftuntersuchung. In Conrad W, Stier B., (Hrsg.): Grundlagen, Methoden und Ergebnisse der forensischen Schriftuntersuchung. Lübeck: Schmidt-Römhild.

 

 

Für weitere Literatur-Angaben, insbesondere Zeitschriftenaufsätze, wird auf systematische Fachliteratur-Sammlungen, wie beispielsweise die Mannheimer Bibliographie für Schriftvergleichung und Urkundenprüfung verwiesen.

 

pdf-File laden
Text in Englisch
(c) GFS 10´2011